3 Comments

Vote for something, not against something


A politician who transcends party politics

Sometimes a politician transcends party politics. They are elected and re-elected because of who they are and what they have done. Based on the amazing results that he has delivered and the high calibre individual that he is, I think that voters with views across the political spectrum can feed good voting for John Milloy just because he’s John Milloy.

Vote for a better Ontario

I realize though that most voters decide how to vote based upon the parties and their platforms.

The Liberal government has not been perfect, but I’ve never seen a perfect government in a democracy yet. There’s a lot of work to be done but based upon what has been done over the last eight years and what is promised over the next four years, I believe a Liberal vote is a vote for a better Ontario–the type of Ontario that I advocate for in this blog.

Consider voting Liberal if you care about:

A positive vote

My friends in the NDP think that when I want you to vote Liberal instead of NDP that I’m asking you to vote against Tim Hudak’s Tea Party. That’s their spin to try to get your vote. What I’m actually trying to do is to make the point that there are competing visions for the future of Ontario. Yes, Hudak’s PCs scare me but I don’t want you to vote Liberal to stop them. I want you to vote Liberal because it’s the best way to build a future based upon the vision that I present in this space. I think there’s enough good reasons for people considering other centre/left parties to support the Liberals.

Waterloo Region voting pattern

I can hear them now saying there’s the Liberal sense of entitlement again. It’s another good argument to try to increase their numbers but it’s not fair nor true. I have closely followed politics in Waterloo Region since 1980. Except for 1990 when the NDP swept the province, the party has never placed better than third here. Each party comes into an election with a base of voters that are likely to vote for them because that has been their preference in the past. That base is larger in Waterloo Region for the Liberals and the PCs than the NDP. A party wins or loses based upon how many voters without affiliation it can attract. Sure the NDP could get enough votes to win a riding but it needs much more growth than the primary alternative to the far right position the PCs are offering.

A hard earned base of support

I’m not taking a Liberal base for granted. It is based upon decades of hard work earning voters’ support. In the 2011 provincial elections, scores of volunteers are knocking on doors, dropping off pamphlets, putting up signs and making phone calls to support a centrist option just as they have in every election since before 1980. The Liberal base in Waterloo Region has been earned the hard way and it’s not going away on Thursday. But that doesn’t mean Liberal candidates will win. That depends upon voters who decide election to election who will get their vote.

Don’t vote strategically. Vote with your head

I am not calling for strategic voting because I define that as asking people to vote for a party they don’t normally support. If you belong to the NDP or have always voted that way, I don’t expect you to do anything differently. But if you are trying to decide between the Green Party, the NDP or the Liberals, I am asking you to vote for the strongest party that shares your personal vision. In Waterloo Region, your choice is clear and it’s one you can feel good about after you mark your ballot.

In Kitchener Centre, your choice is even clearer if you care about Kitchener and Waterloo Region. Vote for John Milloy because he’s John Milloy.

Disagree or agree with me, vote on Thursday, October 6!
3 comments on “Vote for something, not against something

  1. I always vote positively for Conservatives and believe that we will have a better Kitchener, Waterloo Region and and better Ontario with PC as leaders. I also have faith in Dave McDonald. So I am not going against but maintaining as you state my support for my party beliefs.

    John Milloy is a great guy, but I have never voted for him. He has served me well however regardless, and that is how it should be. And you are obviously Liberal, so therefore should be voting Liberal and supporting John and your party.

    I have gone through all platforms and still support the PC party. The Liberals scare me to be honest, but not as much as a NDP or Green party province.

    Hoping that we get an increase in voters and also voting intelligently.

  2. When you talk about voting patterns and “Sure the NDP could get enough votes to win a riding but it needs much more growth than the primary alternative to the far right position the PCs are offering.” It comes across as saying that Liberals have the best chance to beat the PC’s (fine), and their is no sense voting for a party that will most likely come in 3rd or 4th.

    This is the part of the election banter that I have been irritated by. I remember discussing politics as a child with my Dad – advantages of incumbents and how polls sway people. I didn’t get it then and I don’t get it now (I do a little). There is nothing wrong with voting for a party that doesn’t have a large chance of winning if it gets the message out – that parties policies are important to you. I have known for the past several elections that chances are my party is not going to win. However, by voting for them it is saying that I think their policies are important, it is allowing them to grow.

    To ask people to vote for the strongest party that shares your vision implies that the Liberals, NDP and Green Party all have the same vision. They don’t. People should vote for the party that has the has the vision closest to their own.

    I care about the drinking water in Waterloo Region. How long did it take for the Liberals to request an Environmental Assessment on the Melancthon Megaquarry Project in the Moraine?

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts Teresa. Your approach to voting is sound.It’s why I’m not advocating strategic voting which normally calls for everyone who opposes the Conservative agenda to pool their votes with the party most likely to win. I recognize that the parties are different and respect people’s right and preference to vote for the party that most closely reflects their personal positions.

      I am directing this post at voters who have are undecided and don’t have a strong connection to any party. My point is that the Liberal record and platform is agreeable to many voters who are in the centre or to the left. I’m appealing to pragmatic voters to choose the party in Waterloo Region which has the best chance to move a progressive vision forward–in part because they’ve demonstrated they will.

Comments are closed.

