Exciting developments just down Ottawa Street South from King


Hey! I just learned that Braun’s Bicycles–an icon of downtown Kitchener for as long as I can remember–is moving its Kitchener store to King and Ottawa! Exciting news for east downtown Kitchener to be sure.

Braun’s new store will be on Nyberg between Ottawa St. South and Borden near Sherwood Music. Full details are in the Record.

Welcome to the neighbourhood Braun’s!

LRT station planned for Ottawa & Mill

Last night, I went to an LRT consultation that was pretty much a consultation about nothing. It was only a hoop to jump through for a provincial government process.

I did learn something that I thought was worth sharing. One of the updates showed that an LRT station is now planned for Ottawa and Mill Streets. Though it said development potential was part of the reason, it took me awhile to put 2 and 2 together.

Take a look at the map below. Ottawa and Mill meet near the centre of the bottom of the map. Then look up to the left. See that big property there? That would be the Schneiders plant that Maple Leaf Foods plans to close. A coincidence? I don’t think so.

Very interesting. Easy to imagine the exciting possibilities. Makes you go “hmmmm,” eh?

