What should Waterloo Region do with its waste?


I’ll keep this short and to the point.

The Region of Waterloo is in the process of developing a master plan for waste management. I’m on the stakeholders advisory committee so I’ve been meaning to write about this subject for some time but I haven’t had as much time for blogging this fall so I haven’t yet. But I want to make sure you know about the consultations taking place. Last night there was a public information centre in Waterloo, tonight it is in Woolwich, Wednesday is Kitchener’s turn at the Memorial Auditorium Complex and on Thursday it is in Cambridge. If possible get to one of these sessions.

You can also make your voice heard through an online survey.

What do I think? I’ve given the matter some thought but don’t have time to share anything right now. What I know for sure is that many of you also have thoughts on this matter or will after giving the matter some thought, so be sure to let the Region know what you think since in 20 years at our current rate the Region’s landfill will be maxed out.

I’ll share some of my thoughts later! In the meantime, feel free to discuss the issue and options here.

