Resources for building a healthy Kitchener


As I presented to city council, I believe that this committee plays an important role in building a healthy Kitchener. I won’t repeat my presentation here so please read about why we need this committee. You may also like to read an earlier post where I look in more detail at what a “healthy” community means and howA Plan for a Healthy Kitchener the committee is relevant to the responsibilities of the City of Kitchener.

But it’s not important because I think it is. The  City of Kitchener’s strategic plan is called “A Plan for a Healthy Kitchener (PDF)” and so it is the foundation of the city’s strategic vision. Here is where you can learn more about the strategic plan and how it came about.

Interested in learning more about a Safe and Healthy Community?

If you would like to learn more about what a “safe and healthy community” means and integral concepts, you might read some of the following resources:

Healthy Community

Crime Prevention

Social Determinants of Health

How a city is Designed & Developed

I’m sure there are more resources that could be added here. If you have a suggestion, please let me know.

