Day 4: Being an engaged citizen is an expression of fellowship


Last night, I spoke at the Region of Waterloo’s public budget input session. I spoke about the cuts to discretionary benefits (including the community food assistance network), public transit, dental health clinic hours and rural transfer stations.

So what does that have to do with today’s theme of fellowship? I’ll explain in a moment.

Day 4 of the 12 Days for Good: FELLOWSHIP12 days 2013

Today’s the fourth day of the 12 Days for Good coordinated as a pay it forward campaign by the House of Friendship. On Twitter? Follow all the goodness by following #12daysforgood and contribute your own good deeds too!

Today’s theme is “Fellowship” which is described as:  to daily belong and live in partnership or communion with our brothers and sisters, near and far, as part of one healthy community

I see being an engaged citizen as an expression of fellowship because by taking an active interest in your community, province or country, you can make it better. Hopefully not better for a few but in a ways that benefit directly or indirectly as many people as possible. So on the one hand, I see it as a responsibility of belonging to something greater than yourself.  And as we awork towards building one healthy community, we bring people together so that they know about each other and care about each other’s welfare.

Make your voice heardDraft Voting Turnout Poster for Kitchener

I’ve given an Ignite talk on making your voice heard so I won’t repeat here why that is important.But I wanted to take this opportunity to encourage you to get engaged as a citizen.

My blog is one way that I engage myself in our community. I feel it’s important not to be an armchair critic and try to participate in consultations and speak to issues to give our elected leaders food for thought in making their decisions. That’s why I spoke to Regional Council last night and why tonight I’m attending a forum on the importance of a smart on growth approach in Waterloo Region.

Last night an estimated 185 people let Councillors know they were concerned with one or mo.re of the budget recommendations. That was a great display of fellowship.

Will you join those coming tonight to learn about the consequences of the choices we make for the future of our growing community?

Maybe that’s not your thing. Think about what your thing is and get engaged. Help Waterloo Region be all it can be!

More good from the 12 days campaign

If you liked my post about how volunteering can address equality of opportunity, read this post from Big Brothers Big Sisters of Waterloo Region on how you can do exactly that by mentoring one of their children.

