20 Comments

What should I do in the fall?


James Howe

Hey there! With Mayor Carl Zehr officially announcing that he’s not seeking re-election, the shape of the municipal election on October 27 is coming into focus.

I’m giving serious consideration to offering myself as a candidate. Before I make a final decision, I’d like to consult you as a reader of this blog to find out what you think I should do.

But first some food for thought:

  • I’ve paid a lot of attention to the activities of the City of Kitchener since starting this blog nearly 4 years ago. Living in Ward 10, there’s an opening since Dan Glenn-Graham seeks to become our next Mayor.
  • Many issues that I care about including rapid transit are the responsibility of the Region of Waterloo.
  • At the same time, I don’t need to be an elected politician to make a difference in our community. I’ve been doing that for most of my life including the last 5 years via social media.
  • Given some of the feedback on previous posts, I know some folks would prefer that I just quietly fade into the background.

Please let me know what you think I should do.

SURVEY CLOSED

You’re also welcome to share comments below.

20 comments on “What should I do in the fall?

  1. I believe you should follow your Heart and your instincts, and with that in mind I strongly recommend you run!

  2. If you feel you have the support then go for it but remember, there’s a hell of a difference between sitting at a keyboard blogging and actually having your hands on the levers of power.

    Politics can eat you up and spit you out.

  3. It’s easier to change the system from the inside then it is to be shouting from the outside. Go for it. “Howe for Now”.

  4. I say start local James. You’re already a great advocate for your ward, why not start there. As far as the feedback on social media – I wouldn’t take that to heart. It is often the loudmouth schnooks who post that garbage, not the thoughtful mainstream.

  5. I agree with Rich, start as a councillor and see how you like it

  6. You have an incredible passion in making Kitchener a great place to live. I encourage you to run if you can balance the commitment with your other aspirations.

  7. James, this would bring all of what you have done in your career together. If I was in your ward… or your town, I’d vote for you! Let me know if I can help in any way. xx

  8. How now, brown cow? Go for it. Its the next logical step…

  9. I’ve been reading your blog for years, but this is my first time commenting. I’ve enjoyed your commentary on our community. I think you’d be a strong voice for those you represent. If you are feeling the call to enter politics yourself, I’d encourage you to do so. I echo other sentiments here though: start as a city councillor. All the best!

Comments are closed.

